Peanut Butter + Banana = Bliss

As I’m sure many of you do, I often find myself having a banana with a bit of peanut butter as an afternoon snack. Or as a breakfast option. Or between some whole wheat bread with honey and toasted. Or for dessert. 

You probably get it, I love the combination of peanut butter and bananas. 

Tonight I was craving this combination, but not in the normal direct-peanut butter to banana-banana to mouth sort of way. I wanted cookies. I wanted peanut butter and banana cookies. I wanted, healthy peanut butter and banana cookies.

I scoured pinterest for the perfect recipe but only got inspiration. So many recipes included refined sugars, or too much brown sugar/honey as a replacement for white sugar (somehow we have gotten to a place where anything brown trumps and becomes healthy compared to anything white-how did that happen?). I didn’t want a whole lot of sugar, or honey, or butter, or dulce de leche added to my cookies. We’re talking peanut butter and bananas after all, they’re perfect as is and could anyone argue that they’re sweet enough? 

So I made up my own recipe, and I’m quite content with the results. And guess what? I can share them with almost all of my friends because they are: gluten and dairy free! Sweet. Literally. 

These cookies have home ground oat flour (super easy with a blender or food processor), bananas, peanut butter, coconut oil, honey, cinnamon, baking soda, salt and corn starch. Cornstarch may take you by surprise-but it really softens the dough and allows for a super fluffy, melt in your mouth delicious cookie. I also added a few blue berries to half of the batch, which was a wonderful idea. 

Coconut oil: it’s rich, it’s lucious, it’s satisfying. And if you only use a little bit-it’s really not all that bad. Moderation, people. I wouldn’t recommend taking a tablespoon of it to the face, but I LOVE what it adds to these cookies. Because it’s only 2 tablespoons, it adds a nice aroma without interfering with the taste of the PB, banana and oats. But don’t take my word for it-whip up a batch of these babies yourself. It only takes 20 minutes (prep, bake and cleanup!!). 

IMG_6342

Blending the oat flour.

IMG_6344

Ready to bake!

IMG_6352

Out of the oven and oh so tempting.

IMG_6368

Yum. I’ll take them all, thanks.

Peanut Butter and Banana Oat Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 3 TBS peanut butter 
  • 2 TBS coconut oil (make sure it is the consistency of butter-you don’t want it too hard or runny)
  • 1 TBS honey
  • 1 ½ cups rolled oats
  • 2 tsp corn starch
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • Optional blueberries (or chocolate chips)

Directions:

  • Heat oven to 375 degrees.
  • Mash ripe bananas with a fork. Add PB, coconut oil and honey and blend with fork.
  • Using food processor, turn oats into fine flour consistency (takes just a minute).
  • Add in remaining dry ingredients and blend until combined (do not add blueberries or other topping yet).
  • Add oat mixture to banana mixture and mix to combine.
  • Spoon by heaping tablespoons onto ungreased cookie sheet. 
  • Press in blueberries or chocolate chips.
  • Bake for 10 minutes.
  • Say, “YUM!”
Leave a Reply

