Last call for winter soup

Today is daylight savings-and I couldn’t be more excited to have that extra hour of light after work. It’s no fun trying to motivate yourself to work out after 5pm when it’s already getting dark. I find myself going to the gym and aimlessly wandering around the machines; using this one for a minute…then that one for a minute…then determining I deserve frozen yogurt for working out. Go me!

But with the sun being out a little longer each day now, I’m sure to get out with the puppy and go for more evening runs. We’re also approaching race season in my neck of the woods-and training for a 10k will begin in a week. You will likely hear occasional groans from that coming up.

But through all this exercise, or attempts at, a girl’s still gotta eat! And I still love my vegetarian recipes now and again. The way I see it, you know you’ve hit the jackpot on a vegetarian soup recipe when your self proclaimed carnivore boyfriend asks for it regularly, and you still use veggie sausage long after you’ve reincorporated meat into your diet. With daylight savings comes the end of soup season as well-so I need to get my fix in while I can. I love kale or spinach wilted into soup, and this sweet potato kale soup recipe is just what I need (every other week or so).

Image

Image

Image

Sweet Potato and Kale Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 TBS Extra Virgin Olive Oil, divided
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 lbs sweet potatoes, washed and cubed into 1/4 inch pieces (I keep the skin on-can be peeled if you don’t like the skin)
  • 1 lb white potatoes, washed and cubed into 1/4 inch pieces (same with skin)
  • 1 (14 oz) package vegetarian sausage, sliced (I like Tofurkey Italian Style)
  • 6 cups veggie broth
  • 1 can white beans, rinsed (navy or white kidney-not garbanzo)
  • 1 small head kale, chard or spinach, rinsed and chopped

Directions:

  • Heat 1 TBSP EVOO over medium heat. Add onions and garlic, cook about 5 minutes until softening. Add potatoes and heat for 15 minutes, until beginning to soften.
  • Add broth, bring to boil and continue to cook over medium-low temp, covered, until potatoes are done (about 20 minutes).
  • Add remaining TBSP oil, veggie sausage and white beans, cook additional 5 minutes until heated through.
  • Stir in greens until wilted, serve and enjoy!

Image

Thanks for stopping by!

Image

Leave a Reply

