Power Pancakes

**Thanks for all the shares! This post has just hit 300 shares on Pinterest. If you like this one, check out Peach and Blueberry Whole Wheat Muffin Bread, another great breakfast option for the health-and flavor-conscious. If you’re all about simple recipes, check out my post on 3 ingredient cookies and simple seasoned pretzels here.

***Check out my absolute favorite recipe here – Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bites. Made without flour, actually good for you and soooo delicious!

OK, now back to the pancake recipe you came here for! 🙂

I love pancakes, but I hate the sugar/fat/carb load that goes along with them. This morning I was planning to take Cooper on a long trail run, and knew I needed some good energy before. I have written before about the blender/food processor I bought, and I love how it turns oats into oat flour, makes me healthy frozen yogurt out of bananas and strawberries, and purees any ingredient into smooth silkiness. 

IMG_6645 IMG_6646

So I decided I would try to mimic all those “two ingredient” pancake recipes out there (bananas and egg, usually) but give them a bit more kick.

You see, oats are great for you. They reduce bad cholesterol. They are one of the highest on the satiety index (keep you full longer). They help with blood pressure. Basically, they are awesome.

IMG_6643

 IMG_6651

So I figured, why waste a meal on something that won’t keep me full (a banana and an egg??)? Why not add some filling ingredients, and make something that is DELICIOUS, keeps me full until lunch, and gives me all the power I need to run Cooper ragged on the trail? Behold: Power Pancakes. Egg whites, oats, banana. Topped, of course, with blueberries and just a bit of peanut butter and maple syrup (feel free to add or top with whatever-these are even great alone!!). These are seriously some of the most delicious, dairy free, naturally sweetened pancakes I’ve ever made!

PS. If you haven’t tried Earth Balance Coconut & Peanut Spread, PLEASE do. It will change your world.

IMG_6666

Power Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup rolled oats
  • ¼ cup egg whites
  • 1 ripe banana
  • cinnamon (if you like)
  • frozen or fresh blueberries, peanut butter and/or maple syrup to top

Directions:

  • Begin heating skillet over medium – medium/high heat.
  • Blend oats in food processor or blender until fine.
  • Add banana and eggs, blend until smooth. 
  • Blend in a dash of cinnamon, if you like!
  • Let sit while skillet continues to heat. It will be ready when a drop of water immediately begins to evaporate upon hitting the surface.
  • Pour on by the ½ cup full. Cook until the batter begins to set/bubble a bit.
  • Sprinkle with blueberries, and flip. Cook on other side for 2-3 minutes.
  • Repeat with remaining batter.
  • Layer pancakes and top with a spread of peanut butter (try the coconut peanut butter-it’s amazing!!) and syrup
  • Pour yourself a cup of coffee and enjoy!
  • **Best eaten at least an hour before a work out. Provides long lasting energy and keeps you truly sated until lunch!

IMG_6654
Gotta love the blueberries!

IMG_6656
Perfectly browned on the first side.

IMG_6659
And I only used 1TBS of peanut butter and 1 TBS of syrup…that’s all you need!!

IMG_6663
I might have to make these for dessert now…

4 thoughts on “Power Pancakes

Leave a comment