Cookie dough doesn’t always have to be raw…

IMG_6747

Every morning I wake up at 6am to workout. Today, I decided to forgo that venture in order to post this recipe. It’s. Just. That. Good. In the span of four days, I have made these twice for birthdays (the first time was mine!), and gotten rave reviews. Some of you may know that I love unusual recipes and ingredients, especially in baked goods, which rank as my favorite food in general. For example: Black Bean Chocolate Cookies and Raw Dark Chocolate Brownies. And if that strange ingredient allows my recipe to have few total ingredients, I love that even more. Like Peanut Butter and Banana Oat Cookies or Power Pancakes. So when I stumbled across Texanerin’s Cookie Dough bites, I had to make a version of my own!

Just like my Black Bean Chocolate Cookies, these use beans as a flour alternative. Except this time it’s chickpeas (garbanzo beans). They leave the cookies incredibly moist, which gives the impression that you’re eating slightly undercooked dough-which is THE BEST! I know I’m not the only one who loves cookie dough-which is why this must be shared!!

 Even a couple days after I made them, they were still super moist and flavorful. But let’s be honest, they won’t last more than a couple days anyway!

I ended up using maple syrup instead of honey-but you get the idea.

I ended up using maple syrup instead of honey-but you get the idea.

The original post had a few helpful tips. Make sure you use natural peanut butter, so that your cookies don’t end up overly oily. Because, ew. You could try honey, maple syrup, or agave as a sweetener. I just love the taste of maple, and I was low on honey.

Chickpea wash!

Chickpea wash!

You won’t quite use a whole can of chickpeas, so you will have some yummy protein to snack on while you bake!

Processed dough

Processed dough

The original post said this dough isn’t good uncooked-and I totally disagree. I loved it! When you are rolling it into balls, you will probably get some on your fingers. Lick clean, please! (As long as you aren’t going back into the dough..unless this is a batch just for you!)

Chocolate PB love

Chocolate PB love

The consistency of the dough is a bit on the soft/stick side compared to typical cookie dough. Hence the need to wet your hands when shaping the balls.

Ready to bake!

Ready to bake!

Finished cookies

Finished cookies

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bites

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup chickpeas, rinsed and drained, and paper towel dried
  • 1/2 cup + 2 TBS natural peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (or honey, or agave)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup bitter or semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Put all ingredients but chocolate chips in food processor, blend until smooth. Make sure to scrape sides a few times, to avoid leaving whole beans.
  • If dough warmed during process, put in fridge for a few minutes. This will avoid melting chocolate.
  • Fold in chocolate chips.
  • Wet hands and shape into small balls, place on cookie sheet. You can flatten them down if you wish, they won’t change shape much during cooking.
  • Bake for about 8-10 minutes (you can really cook as long as you like, there’s nothing in them that would make you sick if raw!).
  • Enjoy!
Snack time.

Snack time.

My patient, ever-watching companion. (I'm only half in the kitchen! Can't get mad!)

My patient, ever-watching companion. (I’m only half in the kitchen! Can’t get mad!)

7 thoughts on “Cookie dough doesn’t always have to be raw…

  1. Ok, this sounds interesting . Will definitely try it soon. Thanks for all the great photographs. I just love your blog!

  2. I like it. I like it. I like it a lot! Will have all ingredients waiting for you in our kitchen on your next visit.

  3. Yay! I’m so happy that you enjoyed the cookies. 🙂 Some people have commented that their cookies look nothing like mine but yours look exactly the same. They must be doing something wrong. 😉 Thanks so much for linking to me!

  4. Pingback: Power Pancakes | My Mile High Pie

Leave a Reply

